Volos, Jason, and the Argo

Have you every skipped a swim at a perfect Greek beach in order to swim at your hotel instead? Was that a mistake?


In my case, it was an infinitely poor decision. I rejected ocean polished stones for large pointy bay rocks. Much, much worse, I stepped on something spiny, perhaps an urchin, and limped/hobbled around in pain for about 2 days afterward. I remember climbing the hills of Athens, dragging my poor foot behind me.

A good blogger would tell you all about Volos (the town, the beach, the seafood), the Conference (amazing Physics Education/Outreach!), and the Mythology of Jason, the Centaurs, and Mt. Pelion. I may do that still, but for now I’ll just share the pictures I took after being punctured, before the swelling/pain set in. Above is Jason’s ship, the Argo, or a model. Isn’t it tiny?

I leave for New Mexico in less than two weeks unless the shutdown gets LANL. Did you know our national labs are running on last year’s money? They’re going to run out soon.

About mcddanielle

Happy Adventurer in the game of life!
This entry was posted in Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Volos, Jason, and the Argo

  1. hugmamma says:

    You know what they say…”live and learn.” I’m sure you won’t make that mistake again. :)

Leave a Reply

