Out My Backdoor: Pueblo Canyon

Out my back gate.

Yesterday morning I walked out the back gate of my new apartment and into a canyon.  I started my day feeling like the luckiest person alive: pilates, breakfast, and a hike, all without getting into my car. Twice I ran into trouble when established trails abruptly ended.  Instead of retracing my steps, I simply bouldered my way out.  Yes, I climbed up the canyon face using large rocks as stepping stones and hand holds, but I did so carefully, I promise. As much as I love climbing up rocks, I don’t enjoy adrenaline rushes. 

Can you see the Morlock hole?


As you may have guessed, I’ve arrived safely in Los Alamos, NM for my summer adventure.  I’ve rented a small apartment attached to a larger home. The houses in Los Alamos are built on mesas and the town is divided by a series of canyons. It seems like a strange way to build a town, but I don’t have a better suggestion. Perhaps I will after I examine the ancient native dwellings at Bandelier .
A good friend suggested I use a blog to keep everyone updated without going mad, so I’ll be posting all about my travels here. In the next couple of posts, I’ll be describing my trip from South Bend to Iowa, Denver/Boulder, Wyoming, and finally to Los Alamos. After that, I’ll be writing about the land of enchantment.

Lovely, but I don’t know its name.

About mcddanielle

nature loving geek
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Out My Backdoor: Pueblo Canyon

  1. Jenny says:

    Great idea, Danielle! I’m looking forwar to heati more and seeing pictures. I’ve never been southwest, so I’ll be living vicariously through you!

  2. Penny says:

    Danielle, this is a great idea. I will enjoy reading your blog. You must be so excited to see all of those new things and experience new adventures. Soak it all in and share.

  3. Colin says:

    Great blog!

    Your unknown flower looks like a primrose. If you’re feeling adventurous, pick a few leaves and try them in a salad 😉

  4. Catherine Rastovski says:

    Glad to hear you are not dead 🙂 I’m out of town a few days but will chat when we get back. Have lots of fun!
    Cat

  5. Pingback: a Ph.D. and all that… | corn2cottonwoods

Leave a Reply

