Out My Back Door Part II: LOST in Pueblo Canyon

Before I was lost. Look how confident I am. Moron.

How often do you ignore obvious signs and wander around lost, convinced you ought to be on the proper path? If you’re a research scientist like me, the answer is ALL THE TIME. It takes a lot of mistakes (we call them experiments) to test all possible avenues and get results that mean something.

This Memorial Day I had that experience as a hiker. I set off for an afternoon hike in the canyon to get warm (my apartment stays a little too cool and shady) and work up an appetite before dinner. I carefully (and a tad pridefully) watched for return markers, since I had missed my turn towards home on my first hike. I thought to myself, “I won’t make that mistake again!” Well, as they say, pride goes before the long trek in the wrong direction.

I was confidently wandering the Walnut Canyon Rim trail and walked down into the canyon itself. My path ended, as far as I could tell, so I climbed out and rejoined a main trail. This climb, and the jutting mesas, turned my sense of direction around. I was hiking along a straight path in a deep canyon due East. The only thing on the map like it was Pueblo, yet I was convinced I was still in Walnut about to meet Pueblo.The clue that tipped me off: the moon’s position in the sky. By the time I got turned around and back home, I had been hiking for 3 hours.

From the floor of Pueblo Canyon when I finally came to my senses and headed WEST. There is NO WAY I’m climbing out of this.

I’ve climbed up here twice. This time I was relieve because I knew where I was (but yes, the trail appears to dead-end here). I’m pretty sure that pipe is carrying exactly what you think it is.

About mcddanielle

Happy Adventurer in the game of life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Out My Back Door Part II: LOST in Pueblo Canyon

  1. Andrea says:

    Sounds like you’re off to a good start! Glad you made it home safe.

Leave a Reply

