Rocky Mountain National Park: Above 10,000 Feet

After two days in the mile-high city, Dan and I decided to double our altitude and head to Rocky Mountain National Park . Since I took so many amazing photos, I’m writing several posts about RMNP. The high mountains are amazing, and the tundra is impressive, but the truly beautiful pictures will come later. The lower elevations had color and sunshine that we didn’t see at 2 miles above sea level.

Can you see my joy! REAL mountains after all the years in Arkansas and Indiana.

A bit cloudy, but what do you expect in tundra?

The high visitor center was still closed. Can’t imagine why.

Some bird nerds pointed out a ptarmigan to us. We were very lucky to see the camouflaged little brown and white bird. I would tell you to look for it in this pic, but I would be teasing you. It looks like a rock and I didn’t include the sad looking pic I took of it.

Dan + Mountains!

A close up of the differential erosion. The forces of nature make art too!

Dan with amazing rock formations in the background.

It was very cold up there, but we were pretty happy about it!

About mcddanielle

Happy Adventurer in the game of life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rocky Mountain National Park: Above 10,000 Feet

  1. Beth says:

    So, are you doing any work?? 🙂

  2. mcddanielle says:

    Haven’t you noticed that most of these posts take place BEFORE I arrived in LA? I’m beating my head against a wall while my advisors are in China, but I’m learning. I start my summer program (with lectures and everything) on Monday.

    • Beth says:

      I did notice – that’s why I thought I’d ask: to find out if you were doing anything besides enjoying your weekends now.

  3. Catherine Rastovski says:

    Danielle,
    I’m enjoying your blog! It looks like you are having a great time. I love RMNP, although I’ve only been there once. Hope all is well.
    Cat

  4. Colin says:

    How well did you cope with the altitude? The VALLEYS in Colorado are higher than the Appalachian peaks I’m used to!

  5. mcddanielle says:

    The altitude was/is fine for hiking, but I haven’t done any really step hikes in Los Alamos. Running is killer! It turns out it isn’t the altitude: it is so dry here it makes your lungs burn. Apparently that never goes away, but it gets better.

  6. Pingback: My cross country route | corn2cottonwoods

Leave a Reply

