Santa Fe III: Loretto Chapel + Other Offbeat Wedding Locations

I considered getting married at the Loretto Chapel. Not seriously, but my first step to wedding planning was to look for a sufficiently interesting location. To that end, I googled something on the order of “offbeat wedding chapels.” I found a list including the miraculous Loretto. I’ve since lost the link and forgotten the other locations, but the chapel held my imagination since it has a fun story. A mysterious carpenter arrived and built a staircase that seems to hang suspended without proper support.

I admit, I was more interested in that incredible tree than the church in this photo.

The chapel is the oldest Gothic Building west of the Mississippi River.

I had to elbow other tourists out of the way to get to the back of the chapel, but I was able to get a good look at the mystery stairs.

The implication of the story is that the mysterious carpenter was none other than Jesus Christ who performed a miracle for the needy nuns. If you’re Catholic, you may have heard more stories like this than I have. Forgive me if I’m wrong, but I’ve come to understand that the appearance of saints in unusual times and places fits into the Catholic tradition.

Here are a few of the other wedding locations I considered. I haven’t been up to Marblemount in years, but I’ve seen old family photos with the Wildwood in it. I think my Grandmother was pretty taken with it.

The Wildwood Chapel in Marblemount, Washington:

It might actually be smaller than it looks.

As I call it, the “beer chapel” at the North Fork Brewery along Highway 542 up to Mount Baker in Washington. That would have been an amazing wedding: sunrise hike, followed by nuptials, followed by beer and pizza. Sigh…

Ah, what a wedding it would have been!


Ultimately I did pick a tiny chapel to get married in, but one that is much closer to home. The Apple Blossom Chapel in Fennville, MI.

I do believe the Apple Blossom is bigger than the beer chapel, but I may have to confirm that someday soon…

About mcddanielle

nature loving geek
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Santa Fe III: Loretto Chapel + Other Offbeat Wedding Locations

  1. Jenny says:

    I’ve been to Feenville, but only spent time at the vineyard and winery! It’ll be beautiful 🙂

  2. Catherine Rastovski says:

    What a beautiful place to get married! Good choice. It fits you perfectly. I’ve actually heard about the Loretto staircase but have never seen it. It is beautiful!.

  3. Benjamin Weaver says:

    Hey! That chapel’s across from the Eatery! You know I’m from Marblemount, right?

  4. Pingback: Jemez Pueblo | corn2cottonwoods

Leave a Reply

