Camping in Yellowstone

The campground in the morning.


Have you ever camped in the snow? I have twice now, but this time I wore every piece of clothing I had with me, including my coat. Katrina and I went to Yellowstone in late May assuming the weather would be similar to Jackson: rainy. We also assumed our borrowed camping gear was winter rated: it wasn’t. It was one of the coldest nights of my life.

Clearly neither Katrina nor I were ever boy scouts: we were not prepared. Even still, I had so much fun. We laughed like fools crouching over our campfire (started with the Jackson phonebook from the car). We laughed even harder cuddling for warmth in the middle of the night. I’m smiling like a fool remembering that freezing night.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About mcddanielle

nature loving geek
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Camping in Yellowstone

  1. Jenny says:

    I would have died! Although, it would be a nice change of pace about now. Today it’s supposed to be 102 degrees here!

  2. mcddanielle says:

    Wow! It is finally cooling off in Los Alamos – and it is dry here. I don’t know how I’m going to face Indiana summer.

Leave a Reply

