Great Sand Dunes National Park

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I went home for the 4th of July. It was a last minute MUST that I felt and obeyed, and I’m fortunate to have the frequent flier miles to allow me the luxury. It seems fitting that my first day back to Los Alamos I’m writing a post about Great Sand Dunes National Park: the last place I visited before my arrival in New Mexico.

As you might imagine, a part of the country that has huge rolling sand dunes also has high heat and strong winds. I drove a few hours out of my way from Denver to Los Alamos to see the park, and rushed around to see what I could in the little time I had allotted myself.

Instead of hiking up the dunes themselves, I took a short hike where I could see out over them. Lovely and refreshing after hours in the car. Later that day I stopped at an information booth and talked with an old Indian woman about her favorite place: the mesa with the wild horses. I didn’t see them as I headed south on back highways through the mountains of Colorado and into New Mexico, but I kept my eyes peeled.

I had lunch in Taos that day and drove through beautiful rock formations all day long. The Southwest is incredible.

About mcddanielle

Happy Adventurer in the game of life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

