Pueblo Alto: the house on the hill

After our night camping, I did something unusual. I waited until someone else had gotten up to get out of my sleeping bag and face the day. Why? I certainly wasn’t asleep: the sun was shining and the birds were noisily enjoying the morning. Oh yes, because Ryan’s car keys were with him and there was little I could do without them. Sure I could have gone for a morning stroll, but for once I wasn’t in the mood. When I did get up, I got some nice shots of the cliffs at Gallo Campground at sunrise.

The campground in Chaco Culture National Historical Park


After a camp breakfast of oatmeal, we packed up and headed out for a hike to an ancestral site atop a mesa. We stopped on the way to take a closer look at Fajada Butte. There are petroglyphs on its top and ancient astronomical markers: sun daggers. During winter solstice, they shone light in sharp lines.

Ryan was fascinated by the Fajada Butte and its sun daggers


This slideshow requires JavaScript.


By the time we’d finished the hike 3 hours later, everyone but me wanted food and rest. I wanted to see more ruins (and hike!) but I conceded and we headed back toward Los Alamos. On the way home we stopped for lunch at The Range Cafe: a famous cafe that started in Bernalillo. The dessert case looked incredible, but I was far too full of huevos rancheros to try anything.

About mcddanielle

nature loving geek
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

