Why Georgia O’Keeffe was a Bad Ass

Forgive my language, but there is quite simply no other way to describe the artist in modern terms.

Yes, I said it, a bad ass.


I went to the Georgia O’Keeffe museum one lazy Saturday a few weeks before my program was to end. Ryan, Forrest and I attended an informative lecture when we arrived, wandered the exhibits, and caught a film about Georgia O’Keeffe. Unfortunately photos were not allowed, so I don’t have any of my two friends scrutinizing, squinting, laughing, and comparing as we wandered through a delightful and contrasting museum.

An expression of Georgia O’Keeffe’s feelings of youth, love, and everything else.

A photo taken by O’Keeffe’s future husband of her with her art.

Georgia O’Keeffe chose early in her career to avoid reproducing artworks of others or simply painting life as we all view it. For her art was about expressing her emotions and her early works reflect her love of Alfred Stieglitz (her future husband). The nature of O’Keeffe’s subjects changed dramatically after Stieglitz exhibited hundreds of risque photos of O’Keeffe with her art. It cast the mold for O’Keeffe as a sexual being who painted provocative subjects. She rebelled deeply against this and turned to literal still-lifes of art and flowers.

One of her flower paintings. She intended a literal translation.

O’Keeffe’s hands and her husbands art. He was following the dictum that art should be art no matter which way you rotate it. This works surprisingly well for this photo.


Georgia O’Keeffe fell in love with New Mexico and spent extended periods there throughout her adult life. She moved there permanently after her husbands death. She spent much of her time exploring and sketching, only to return home and create her paintings. She was an impressive woman to say the least.

This amazing peak was in O’Keeffe’s backyard.

Georgia O’Keeffe hitches a ride to Abiquiu.

About mcddanielle

Happy Adventurer in the game of life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why Georgia O’Keeffe was a Bad Ass

  1. Catherine Rastovski says:

    I don’t remember where I saw them (book? museum?) but I saw several of the photographs Stieglitz took of O’Keeffe. He thought she was the most beautiful woman in the world. His photos are so full of tension. I remember that he was obsessed with her hands, took tons of pictures of them. My mom also raved about the O’Keeffe museum. I hope to visit some day. Thanks for the great update.

  2. Monet says:

    Love her. We visited her museum when I was only seven or eight. Even at that young age, I knew how special she was…her work is full of complex and evolving contradictions. I loved looking at these pictures. Thank you for sharing!

  3. Great post and great info — we need to hear more about how artists and other prolific figures really are

  4. Thanks for checking out my blog!

    I so love Georgia O’Keeffe! I’m ever hopeful that I’ll be a late bloomer like her. L.

  5. Randee says:

    And now I know a bit about Georgia O’Keeffe. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

