January in Chicago and the BAD ASS COFFEE COMPANY!

Before classes started, I insisted we escape Indiana and go to the faraway Chicagoland.

Charlie Brown at Science and Industry

Charlie Brown at Science and Industry

We schemed our way into free admission at Science and Industry. My favorite part: the exhibit on granular materials and avalanches! It actually relates to research I do at Los Alamos, believe it or not. Even more fun, I knew/recognized scientists in the informational videos in the museum. I am one serious geek!
The cool shiny spheres behind me contain granular materials: little spheres, pasta, sand, confetti... anything that will flow, jam, and exhibit avalanch behavior.  Yep, avalanches and pasta in the same sentence.

The cool shiny spheres behind me contain granular materials: little spheres, pasta, sand, confetti… anything that will flow, jam, and exhibit avalanch behavior. Yep, avalanches and pasta in the same sentence.


Enjoying the unseasonably warm Chicago weather

Enjoying the unseasonably warm Chicago weather


Science and Industry!

Science and Industry!


Beyond museums, our 2 night trip consisted of wandering the Chicago Art Institute, attending the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, a fabulous meal at Russian Tea Time, drinking at Frontera, and roaming the streets of Chicago. Of course I have no photographic evidence I did all of these wonderful things, but I can say that I love having a student membership at the Art Institute. We used it as a warm homebase to spend time in between longer museum visits at the Field and dinner/symphony trips.
He loves Modern Art, just ask him

He loves Modern Art, just ask him


The Vampiro (a chipotle-cucumber bloody mary) at Frontera is amazing. If you feel that sweet + alcohol = anathema, drink this instead. Aside from the lovely cultural opportunities, I had several goals. I wanted to see the famous Picasso in Daley Plaza. I wanted to take Dan to the old Chicago library (more on that soon).
Contemplating the Picasso

Contemplating the Picasso


BAD ASS COFFEE!

BAD ASS COFFEE!


On our last day I wanted Chicago pizza and BAD ASS COFFEE in Wrigleyville. The Art of Pizza is everything I expected, perhaps more.
YES!  It WAS OPEN!

YES! It WAS OPEN!

Thank goodness, I successfully drank Bad Ass Coffee. It was delicious. The coffee they kindly sent me last September was even better. I took pictures, but they’re mixed in with my wedding photos, and I admit, I haven’t posted/thanked them properly.

About mcddanielle

Happy Adventurer in the game of life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

