First Night in Athens

Can you sleep on airplanes? I can, but only if I’m lucky enough to be in first class. For my overnight flight from Detroit to Amsterdam I had an upgrade to Economy Plus* with the idea that the additional legroom would help my 6’2″ husband to sleep. Unfortunately for me, the result was

  • a snoring husband on my right,
  • a larger man on my left,
  • two (occasionally) screaming babies in front of me,
  • and one screaming baby behind me.

Fortunately alcohol is included in the price of Economy Plus, the large man was both a pleasant conversationalist and a millionaire who gave me career advice (I believe him, he had great work/travel pics on his iPhone), and the babies in front were mollified by the funny faces Dan and I made at them.

*praise Delta for charging us for 3-4″, can you sense the sarcasm?

And most fortunately, I was able to walk from my Athens apartment (thank you airbnb!), to see everything in this post.

The Library of Hadrian.  We stumbled past this in our jetlagged wander without knowing what is was.

The Library of Hadrian. We stumbled past this in our jetlagged wander without knowing what is was.

209

Anafiotika, a neighborhood just south of the Acropolis, was settled by folks from the Island of Anafi and I believe these walls are part of that influence. The neighborhood itself is a bit west of this street, but I count the colored walls as an example of non-Athens style.

214

A ruin on a far hilltop. You’ll be seeing close-ups in a later post when I actually hike up that one.

217

The Odeon of Herodes. Given a slightly different travel schedule, Dan and I would have attended a concert there.

226

Very old, slick marble. It reminded me of walking on the volcanic stone on Sandia Peak.

227

The gate to the Acropolis, the hilltop fortress and sacred place of Athens.

230

Can you see the Caryatids on the porch of the Erechtheion? Those are replicas.

231

The columns of the Parthenon, temple of Athena and restoration in progress.

234

I’ve been awake for at least 24 hours and the sun is setting in my face, but I’m at the Acropolis!

237

One of the best sunsets in my memory.

238

Later I’ll show pictures of how it looked. Incredible.

239

241

Athens has seven major hills. I would like to climb all of them one day.

247

Another view of the Erechtheion, a temple that was dedicated to both Athena and Poseidon 2500 years ago.

252

And to end this post, this pose says: “Hello Greece! I’m still wearing my travel sweats!”

More soon. Back to a rather grumpy day at work for me, but somehow after relieving this, I’m full of smiles (and chocolate).

About mcddanielle

Happy Adventurer in the game of life!
This entry was posted in Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First Night in Athens

  1. Munira says:

    Hahaha…I know what you mean by that relieved feeling! Am having so much fun documenting my trip to Sri Lanka can’t get the smile off my face and I keep looking at the pix over and over. It’s like reliving it all on my blog πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    Greece looks sunny!

  2. writer77 says:

    Reminds me of the wonderful time I spent in Athens for three weeks during a naval layover in 1973; your photos are spectacular!

  3. Pingback: Volos, Jason, and the Argo | corn2cottonwoods

Leave a Reply

