a Ph.D. and all that…

Cap and Gown... me?  nah!

Cap and Gown… me? nah!

Two years ago I lived in Los Alamos, NM (short for the cottonwoods in Spanish). I wrote my very first post with a nod to CCR, and the hike out my back door. I blogged faithfully all summer about hikes , camping trips, adventures in Los Alamos, Santa Fe, and Albuquerque. At the end of the summer, completely exhausted, I returned to corny Indiana to complete my Ph.D. I nearly abandoned the blog in the process, while I got married, went to Greece, made 4 return tripes to Los Alamos, and went on many other adventures… several of which have not made the blog.

Life is just getting busier and more beautiful. Adventures abound, but photographic evidence is sometimes scant. I’m not one to celebrate major milestones. I defended my thesis in March, and went straight to a teaching session afterwards. I graduated this May, but skipped the ceremony for research in Los Alamos. I did finally take a vacation: site seeing in Los Angeles, hiking in Lake Tahoe, and finally a lovely wedding in Pittsburgh.

More soon. Oh, the picture, hiking in Lake Tahoe. That is how I celebrate a Ph.D.

About mcddanielle

Happy Adventurer in the game of life!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a Ph.D. and all that…

  1. I lived in Los Alamos myself for a few years and in northern New Mexico a decade or so. I still have a get away place on the east side of the Sangre de Christos. After living in the land of Enchantment all other places seem lacking – except Hawaii, where I am for now. Even still those hikes around the Pajarito are missed

  2. Joanne says:

    Congratulations!!! And that sounds like a fun way to celebrate to me!

Leave a Reply

